South Wales Trail Riders
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Kit advice for a newbie

+8
crm250dude
Gareth Gates
mizzed
curl666
shocker
Taffy300
mufynman
SherrieW
12 posters

Page 1 of 4 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Go down

Kit advice for a newbie Empty Kit advice for a newbie

Post by SherrieW Fri Nov 13, 2015 1:00 am

Hi, I'm new to off roading so need to buy appropriate kit. I have bought a CRF250 (road legal) and want to do green lanes and some moto x tracks. I know what I need for moto x but what do you wear for enduro? I have loads of road/track gear but that feels like it will be too bulky for off road riding. Any shop recommendation would be great too, I'm based in Tredegar.
SherrieW
SherrieW

Back to top Go down

Kit advice for a newbie Empty Re: Kit advice for a newbie

Post by mufynman Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:26 am

You can spend a bloody fortune on gear , so maybe dont go out and buy the best bling until you know youre going to like offroading . Everyones got their personal favourite boots etc , but you generally get what you pay for . Apart from boots and helmet , some dont wear much else other than jacket & trousers ( light and waterproof if possible ) , but most wear a body armour vest ( £50-60) and some knee guards . KTM Hydrotech are a great trouser for winter , and then whatever jacket you fancy , lots of us have a light layer then a Sports direct cycle jacket ( £20 - keeps some rain and wind out ) . Rucksack is essential ( Kriega range are great , with a hydropack , R25 is a good size keep a few bits and bobs in there too ). Airoh Aviator helmets are the lightest best helmet , but cost a lot , so its down to how deep your pockets are . But to be honest you can go out in any old shit and have a laugh Razz
mufynman
mufynman

Back to top Go down

Post by Taffy300 Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:59 am