South Wales Trail Riders
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

525 piston rings

+4
phil990
shocker
steve
JTM525
8 posters

Page 1 of 5 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Go down

525 piston rings Empty 525 piston rings

Post by JTM525 Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:53 pm

As i'm sure a few of you have noticed my bike is in need of a set of piston rings or even a piston! Rolling Eyes
I  put a new piston in when the main bearings started grumbling about 200 hours ago which i think was a prox piston ( I can't remember now cos I didn't buy the bits myself, Reps got them!) so couple of questions, should i just replace the rings or should i get a whole piston? Will ktm rings fit the prox piston? Any help would be appreciated as i'm just a dumb electrician lol!
JTM525
JTM525

Back to top Go down

525 piston rings Empty Re: 525 piston rings

Post by steve Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:21 pm

I,d check the barrel doesn't need relining first. Other wise its not going to make much difference if the new piston is rattling its way up and down the bore.
steve
steve

Back to top Go down

Post by JTM525 Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:46 am

steve wrote:I,d check the barrel doesn't need relining first. Other wise its not going to make much difference if the new piston is rattling its way up and down the bore.
Good call Steve, I'd better get it apart first before I buy anything!
JTM525
JTM525

Back to top Go down

Post by shocker Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:18 am

At those hours also think strip it down first and have a proper look - including conrod/main bearings, because when I was trying to trade my WR in they all asked when the conrod had been done?
Then price it all up and decide weather best to fix it or flog it
(Just keep quiet about how much work it's done, and how tired it is on any off road bike forums though in case flogging it the best option Rolling Eyes  Laughing  )

Last edited by shocker on Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
shocker
shocker