South Wales Trail Riders
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fork seals on mot

+5
steve
mizzed
mufynman
Taffy300
Oojufink
9 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Fork seals on mot Empty Fork seals on mot

Post by Oojufink Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:52 pm

Was chatting to a mate about putting an mot on my ktm 300. He said it won't pass as the seals are gone as there is some slight oil rings on the stanchions. It got me to thinking if I literally wiped them clean just before I take into the mot station how could they tell the seals were seeping slightly?
I'm new to this having a bike malarkey so please forgive my ignorance in the asking of the question!
Is changing the seals a job I could do or is it definitely a mechanics job? What' should the cost roughly be for a bike mechanic to replace them?

Thanks for your help guys Smile

Oojufink

Back to top Go down

Fork seals on mot Empty Re: Fork seals on mot

Post by Taffy300 Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:01 am

The usual thing, its an easy enough job (if you know what your doing), Im pretty sure that fork seals are an advisary note on an MOT, But if you were doing the MOT to keep it you may aswell get the seals done anyway, Ring Dene (Two Wheel Engineering) (01656 653896), hope this helps.
Taffy300
Taffy300

Back to top Go down

Post by mufynman Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:00 am

Maybe worth trying one of those fork seal scraper tools , on Ebay about £7 , might just be a bit of shit needs cleaning out , stopped mine seeping . Others use a bit of film negative , some on here old enough to know what that is ha ha
mufynman
mufynman

Back to top Go down

Post by Taffy300 Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:45 am

mufynman wrote:Maybe worth trying one of those fork seal  scraper tools , on Ebay about £7 , might just be a bit of shit needs cleaning out , stopped mine seeping . Others use a bit of film negative , some on here old enough to know what that is ha ha